Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

The how-to-be of instructing people in “the right way" has invariably been a topic of debate. On this topic, opinions are divided as to whether a discouraging method is beneficial for students or otherwise. When it comes to encouragement in education, it is my firm conviction that encouraging students to pursue whatever they want is by far more vital than the teacher than some teachers’ unorthodox views. The “right view” is essential to advance students and societies.

First of all, a human being is a complex system rather than a simple one. In complex systems, the only certainty is that everything can change autonomously. This kind of system has an idiosyncrasy: incomputability. In the long run, complex systems such as weather forecast and prediction of behaviors in a living being fail in computing complex events. For instance, presently, neuroscientists’ understanding of the human brain is as little as people’s understanding of gravity prior to Newton. The human brain is so complex that neuroscientists cannot, even with cutting-edge equipment for laying eyes on the inner part of the head, understand what consciousness is, let alone the prediction of the complicated-emerged behavior from consciousness. This difficulty in predicting the processes of the human brain explains the anomalous intellectual success of Einstein. For all his teachers' evaluation of his talent, he discovers one of the most mysterious problems in physics. Also, he stood on the shoulder of giants in natural philosophy and revolutionized the assumption behind normative principles in the concepts of time and space theretofore.

Furthermore, the responsibility of educational institutions is to encourage the interests of students rather than discourage them. For instance, on the one hand, if a teacher impaired a student’s interest because of his or her performance in a short time in a field of study, then that student would be disappointed. Our interests and desires need time to reveal for ourselves inwardly and for others outwardly. On the other hand, a teacher, with suitable encouragement, may provide a student with an opportunity in which he or she can decide to continue a field of study or otherwise. Moreover, even if a student decided to stop short of studying the field of study, she, having encouragement from effective teachers, would stop at nothing to be best at her desired field of study.

Admittedly, some fly in the face of the above reasons by saying that the educational system should lead students in the right direction where they can realize self-fulfillment, and where the education budget can be saved for advancing in education matter rather than for wasting on trial and error for students interest. However, if the educational system does not provide students with the opportunity to explore their potential with doing trial and error, then the educational system will come to a paradox because education per se is nothing if not the vintage of the history of tries and errors. In the end, experts in the educational institutions who overlook students’ desire and complexity do so at destructive dynamic societies and people as well.

In the end, if experts in the educational institutions overlook students’ desire and complexity, they will do so at destructive dynamic societies and people as well.