Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.
Educational institutions are centrers of excellence where students are educated and groomed to take on the world and
hopefully become subject experts like the teachers they were students of.Hence i partially agree with students
must be made aware of there there strengths and guide them to a path where they will most likely succeed.However
there are some contradictory cases where the person has found immense success in field they were not expected to
succeed.
To Begin with,any field would require certain important traits which is considered essential to succeed in the said field.
Such as field of science and engineering requires immense interest in mathematics and a student who is not interested in mathematics
is unlikely to succeed in the engineering as well.Similarly vivid imaginations is an essential trait for sci-fi fiction writer.
a teacher who most likely has spent there life's dedicated to the field of study would readily able identify these important
skills.
Additionally,Students may have the wrong idea about the field itself and teacher can enlighten the students
about the ground realities. For example, A student may be very interested in driving cars,it obvious that
the student may mistake automobile designing as correct field of study, but a learned automobile design is
not even remotely connect to driving car is rather a field of engineering which requires immense knowledge in
engineering principles.For example,I was loved playing computer games and wanted to become a game designer
but i was made aware that game design is a dedicated computer science field,this knowledge helped me to build
the prerequisites for the a game designers job.
Conversely,There have be instances were students were deemed unfit for the field of study, but they went on to create
some of the greatest ground breaking theories regarding the field.One of the best examples would be, like of Edison,
Edison was relegated from the classroom deemed too stupid to continue education.However today we are grateful
for the contribution of Alva Edison for his contribution to the field of physics.
To sum it up, Teacher play a very important role in any students education and teacher can make sure that the
student are aware about the challenges in the field of study.Then Students can take informed decision regarding
there future.