Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendati

What every student deserves is not only education but 'quality' education. However, as simple as it is to state, it seems out to be quite difficult to ensure that students receive 'quality' education. By 'quality' here, I intend to mean more than merely knowing facts and information. And that is what the recommendation asks for-'quality' education and hence, my agreement with it.

I brought up the notion of 'quality' education and my agreement with the recommendation in the previous paragraph. Here, I would like to expound on my position and explain why it is required. Students, considered the future of tomorrow, would indeed be the future only if they are interested in a particular field and have developed the adequate level of competencies to be proficient in that field. For this to be true, it would behoove the students to not only know the facts but also the ideas and concepts that those facts illustrate. This is important because when a student gets into the professional field, it is his or her learning gained over the past years that decides how much successful he or she would become. If the student only knows facts and data and doesn't know how to distill the ideas, concepts and important information from those facts and data then the student is likely to have a tough time. Even simple problems would seem conundrums to them and slowly, they would find their profession humdrum. This may, unfortunately, lead to unemployment.

Not having an appropriate assessment strategy to test learning in educational institutions can lead to serious implications. For example, Research and Development in a country can get seriously hampered. Research asks the researchers to think creatively which is possible only if the researcher has his or her concepts cleared. Only having a grasp on facts would not lead to novelty, and hence, as a result, there would be no progress in this field. This would fail the very objective of having research institutes, making the country increasingly dependable on other countries. Also, apart from this consequence, another very serious implication can be a paucity of capable educators in the educational institutions. A bunch of students of today would go on to become tomorrow’s educators. And if today’s students do not have the right learning, it is hard to imagine how capable educators they would prove to be tomorrow.

Solution to these problems calls for the educators to be responsible enough so that they inculcate the right way of learning in the students from the starting. This requires the educator to assess the student’s ability to extract ideas, trends, inferences and the concepts behind those facts. Having this kind of assessment will make sure that the student gets the essence of learning, which would later prove to be beneficial for the student and ultimately for the country.