A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasonin

Not only education but quality education is what every student deserves. In order to give the students quality education and help them shape their future, an appropriate curriculum is required. A curriculum requires that it should not be rigid. It should be flexible and cater to the interests of a student. The given recommendation seems a bit parochial and doesn't seem promising in giving quality education to the students.

When a student is about to apply for a college, he or she is expected to already know what specialization or which field he or she would be opting. For the students to know what they should be opting, they should already be interested in that particular field. This requires a flexible curriculum. For example, if a student is going to study Humanities in the college, the student should already have some prior knowledge and exposure to that field or subject. The level of the knowledge doesn't need to be high. But if the national curriculum didacts the students to do specific prescribed courses in the secondary or high school which do not give the required exposure to the student interested in Humanities, then the student might never know about his interest in Humanities. Also, the student may find it stressful to endure the subjects of that curriculum.

The idea of having a single national curriculum may prove to be challenging for the teachers as well. Every teacher has his or her own way of teaching the students. Flexibility to have a teaching style and independence to choose some chapters or topics must be given to the teachers. If a teacher is enjoined to teach in a specific manner, he or she may find it difficult to adjust and therefore, may not be able to devote their full attention to students.

In case of countries like India, where there are multiple recognized languages and almost half of the states speak non-Hindi languages, enforcing a same national curriculum including only Hindi as a mandatory language subject after English does not at all seem to be a pragmatic idea. People of these non-Hindi states take pride in their native languages and would want their children to learn their respective regional language or mother tongue until college.

For the reasons described above, the government of a country must analyze and carefully design a curriculum which allows for flexibilities to some extent. A curriculum must ensure all-round development of a student and must be able to adapt to the interests of a student.