Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas trends and concepts that help explain those facts

The responsibility of educators is to share their profound knowledge of various ideas, trends, and concepts with their fellow students. To make sure adequate knowledge is delivered to the students a cooperative gesture between the educators and the students is necessary. The prompt suggests that educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts. I mostly disagree with the statement for the following two reasons, although I do concede that to understand certain concepts students do require some sort of previous knowledge.

Firstly, not all of the students will be motivated enough to acquire previous knowledge of several ideas, trends, and concepts. Nowadays most of the students are reluctant to learn things that are not assigned as a home task from their educational institutions. Moreover, it is impossible for an educator to make sure every student in the classroom has studied a particular concept previously. Even if they have studied it before, it is possible that there is inconsistency in the amount of knowledge among the students. For example, some lazy students may have skimmed a topic, some may have read it thoroughly and others may have gained a vague understanding of the same topic. It will be tough for the teacher to determine the level of difficulty from where he would start discussing the topic.

Secondly, a teacher should come up with ideas, trends, and concepts that are novel to the pupils which will create enthusiasm among them. They will start to learn from the very basic idea of the topic to the most advanced concepts with the assistance of the educator. It is the duty of the educator to build the foundation on a new subject matter that will excite them from the very beginning. An interactive class where every student will participate interestedly and the use of props may make it easier for the teacher to make the topic clear to the students. For example, if a topic is previously known by the students, some may lose interest to join the classes as they would think they already know this. To make the students zealous enough, it is necessary to present new concepts before them with proper educational props and equipment.

I do concede that in some cases students’ some sort of previous knowledge will be beneficial for the educators for their ease of teaching. For example, if a student knows basic C programming it will be helpful for the instructor to teach him any new programming language. As C programming already covers the programming fundamentals, it will be easier for both the teacher and the student to cooperate while learning.

Of course, it is possible for the teachers to carry on the knowledge-delivering process to the students who come with zero background knowledge but in some special cases, we can encourage having some previous knowledge which will be convenient for both the teachers and the students.