The emergence of the online “blogosphere” and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States. Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

Write a response in which you examine your own position on the statement. Explore the extent to which you either agree or disagree with it, and support your reasoning with evidence and/or examples. Be sure to reflect on ways in which the statement might or might not be true, and how this informs your thinking on the subject.

With “Fake News” being broadcast all over the media and the internet- no one knows what’s true any more, and this confusion is harmful to both the news industry and politics. If bloggers, and teens and tweens and any old Joe off the street can publish an opinion, the standards for covering news and politics will continue to decline. And yet, maybe people should be questioning what those standards are, and have become. Is the standard that the truth be told to the people mo matter what? Or is the standard decided by those who are in charge of the narrative? In a time when older, rich, white males are dominating both the political sphere and the news shows, online blogs, social media posts, and YouTube videos are actually strengthening the political discourse, the more opinions, and stories, and personal experiences that are being shared, the more well rounded the People’s view of political issues will be.

The very real, and unfortunate truth is, main stream media isn’t a trust worthy source for news a politics anymore. Each station has a slant. Fox news has a very clear conservative or republican agenda. The station has proven again and again to exagerrate it’s stories, and spread false claims about oposing political parties. And Fox is not alone. MSNBC- the more, “liberal” news station has been accused of doing the very same thing, in order to make the democratic party look more favorable to voters. So if everyone’s got a horse in the political race, and no one is being honest, why not let the people have their opinions and discussions? We might as well listen to our peers and hear what they have to say- because in many cases, because they aren’t being paid by media moguls, perhaps their opinion is the purest truth that can be found in today’s media circus.

The hope is that perhpas, an active online community will spur active discussions and questions and will make the daily consumer of news less complacent. An online community of people not just believing what they see and hear, is can be a good thing. Though certainly, it can be argued that sites like Brite Bart, or movements such as the men who call them selves involuntary celebates or “incels”, or “red pillars” those that believe in conspitacies, will let their voices be heard as well, and these voices could be damaging, and even potentially very dangerous. And yet America was founded on freedom, and freedom of speech has always been a citizin’s right. If Americans are not allowed to publish their opinions and questions and even their dislike of certain politicians, than the country becomes no better than the communist countries it has faught against.

Certainly there is danger in an anything goes internet culture where satire is confused often for real news, but the danger of not having that freedom is even more severe. Any discourse is a healthy discourse. When voices are silenced, and only one narrative is allowed to be heard, than our democracy becomes a dictatorship. People shouldn’t believe everything they read, but they should read all that they can, so we can be a well informed, open minded people.