Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and

resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with

the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most

compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Laws have been an integral part of society and human civilisation since the beginning. In a sense, having well-defined laws and rules is what differentiates us from animals. People have their own set of rules based on different circumstances like religion, region and neighbourhood. Different laws are made under varying circumstances, and with changing times, they are also adapted to suit our needs better. For example, women and minority communities and certain races have faced a lot of injustice and lack of rights in most parts of the world for centuries, including the lack of voting rights and, in some cases, even necessities like healthcare, but now show a significant improvement in most places.

Revolutions had to occur before members of these communities could be given their fundamental rights. In this case, the currently existing laws at that time were clearly beginning to be perceived as unjust. Resistance to such laws is demonstrated in various forms, including revolutions, protests, riots and violence. Although disobeying unjust laws is warranted, when resistance involves violence that infringes on someone else’s rights, it cannot be justified, especially when the casualties include unknowing common people not associated with the government or other law-making bodies.

Peaceful protests can go a long way in making things work in your and society’s favour. For example, the Chipko movement and Satyagraha movement have incorporated non-violence into their fight for justice and emerged successful. Whereas, riots that involve a lot of bloodshed, even if victorious in their “cause”, have paid a huge cost which could have been avoided. Furthermore, the terms “just” and “unjust” are arbitrary because different cultures dictate different rules, albeit outdated at times, and human judgement is subjective and perceptions vary.

It is extremely important to comply with just laws because it helps maintain peace and ensures the smooth functioning of society, especially laws that involve the safety and personal space of individuals. Disobeying laws just because they don’t adhere to your personal preferences is unacceptable, especially when it causes harm to others in society. Although it is difficult to demarcate “just” and “unjust” with clear boundaries, it is imperative to fight against rules that go against individual and societal rights, especially to ensure that the government does not become all-powerful and starts doing things on a whim. But this can also go the other way, where widespread rule-breaking can lead to disorder and eventually anarchy in the worst case when uncontrolled. I believe that every individual must follow rules that are consistent with the above conditions while also striving to make the unjust just.