Every individual in society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust ones.

The statement discusses the most controversial issue that every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey unjust laws. Indisputably, this is the major force driving the required changes in the society. Nevertheless, others may contradict that this might cause unrest in the society. Therefore, I agree with the opinion that every ethical and moral citizen should stand against unjust laws and conform to just ones.

First of all, the just laws might be biased to the dominating majorities and vice versa for the minorities. The majority might not collude in the same principles as minority and hence use their authoritative power to create a system that would benefit them. One such instance is that of Sati, a practice prevalent in the ancient society of Indian subcontinent. The male society would force the women to sacrifice themselves in fire. Consequently the woman being “so-called” weaker section of the society succumbed to the unjust practise until they raised their voices against it. Therefore to establish a modern unjust society, all the sects of the society should disobey the laws which are deleterious for them.

Secondly, the rights and wrongs depend on one’s perspective. Therefore the laws seem to reflect only the perceptions that lawmakers had. For example, In the eyes of infamous Hitler, the Jews were impure and an impediment to nation’s growth.Henceforth, he sanctioned the death of them in the gas chambers. This is morally and ethically wrong, since no one had any right over other’s lives.

Thirdly, modernisation is a result of such disobedience. Modernisation is only possible when people think out of their limits, and to provide equal opportunities, we need to have just laws. Evidently, Nelson Mandela would not have been an epitome of equality, had he not stood against the unjust laws governing the blacks.

Evidently, these instances and reasons provide an apt ground to conclude that unjust laws are meant to be broken and just laws to be sincerely adhered to.