The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The positive correlation between the economy and fitness levels might be appropriate but the argument is rife with numerous holes and assumptions, thus not strong enough to lead to support the author’s argument.

Citing surveys of Corpora’s citizens, the statistics seem to be misleading. Since the fractions does not aptly reveal the actual population numbers, therefore there is a possibility of having one-fourth of the current population greater in number than one-half of the population. This would otherwise weaken the argument. As a remedial measure, the author should have adopted the population to be revealed in numbers rather than fractions.

The standards on which the medical experts concluded does not collude in the fact that these might have been altered through the years. The standards might have been more stringent now than were twenty years back and therefore fulfilling the requisites might be far-fetched. For example, it might be possible that the current standards of physical fitness requires an individual to be able to run for ten kilometers while this may be mere one kilometer few years back. Unless the survey states that there had been absolutely no modifications in the standards or the extent of such modifications, it cannot be used to effectively back the author’s argument.

The argument assumes that computer ownership guarantees the utility of the computer system. This might not be true. The argument would have been strengthened if instead of analyzing the statistics corresponding to possessing computer systems, the author would have used the operability of such systems as a parameter.

The fitness related problems have been paralleled with degradation in economy which in turn mirrors the citizen’s inability to purchase fitness-related products and services. These products and services seem to be the only way to remain fit but this is not true. There are many other ways to remain fit like jogging or doing yoga, which author repudiates.

Though the economy-strengthening would allow the citizen to buy such products and services and might also result in good fitness, but the whole argument is not cogent enough to establish a direct association between the economy and fitness.