Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.
The author claimed that citizens are obliged to comply with just laws and to defy dishonest ones. Although
one could argue that for the orderly functioning of a society people should submit to lagislations that apply
universally, deficiencies in human constructs entail flawed clauses that ought to be challenged and
revamped.
Admittedly, laws are by definition customs or procedures that are binding for a society. They are designed
in such a way as to protect the interests of every single member equally and punish any wrongdoing which
may led to disadvantage or affliction. Any breach of laws would likey to bring about social unrest and
inequality and endanger the established social order. Therefore, it seems justifiable to comply to all
legislations regardless of subjective notion of just defined by individuals. Nevertheless, it only applies under
a well-developed society in which leagal system is faultless and residents are ideally equal.
Neither reckless disobeyance nor blind acceptance would be benignant for an advancing society. Einstein
once said "Never do anything against conscience even if the state demands it". When evaluation the
efficaciousness of a piece of law we should be guided through our morality and consider whether the
minority has been protected. For example, the discriminating nature of the laws on Jewish population
passed by nazi germany appears evident. Had all germans comply with the rules naively considering the
government as always justified, a even greater Holocaust would be recorded. What they should do instead
is to realize the true core of Fascism autonomy and discrimination towards the Jewish population, listen to
their own sence of integrity and stand up against the repressing regime. As a Jewish at the time, there
were plenty of rationales not to be subservient since he/she would have perished in any instance as long as
the unjust laws were extant. What histrory has shown us is the overthrown of nazi regime by the people
and under no conditions should such inhumane legislations be obeyed.
Take the slavery laws in colonial america for example, numerous people lost their freedom and become
properties of the wealthy planters. These egregious laws resulted in immense suffering of many and
legalized countless atrocities. However allegiant one could be he/she ought be obliged to correct these
discriminating laws and save hundreds of thousands of ordinary people who were born in a different colour.
Without the integrity of the people our societies would fall in the hands of ruthless tyrant and in chaos.
Responsible representatives like Martin Luther King later ensured the rights that the black are entitled to
and helped the society to progress. Thus people shoud be able to challenge unjust laws and promote the
universal values that could make the world a better place.
In conclusion, laws ensure order and guide the proper behaviour of the society. It is compulsory to obey
the law, however owning to divergent economic, political and cultural conditons laws could not be perfect
and as a resposible citizen one should be able to resist such laws and ameliorate our legal system.