In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Arts have been created throughout the history under divergent backgrounds and it would be inconceivable that all the valuable works would be convey a clear message to the general public. Public apprehension should not become the benchmark for valuing arts since such practise would considerably circumscribe the scope of art development and lead some arts to become ephemeral. Thus even esoteric arts also have valuable attributes.

Precious arts are aspiring, dulcet and everlasting compounds of feeling and emotions that artists employ their imagination to concatenate simple notes or shapes into. The tragic sonata Pathetic composed by Beethoven and the frightening Gurenica painted by Picasso have been highly praised across the world. Although many would remember the melody of the sonata few would understand the exact message the suffering Beethoven would like to convey, likewise it would be rather obvious to identify the fragments of human and animal parts in Gurenica but the actual representations of the shapes are more opaque. Nevertheless, the lack of background knowledge would not impede the appreciation of the arts nor should it undermine their beauty and merit. People could sense the fury of Beethoven from the assemblage of tempo, speed and rythm as they could share the feeling of suffering and devastation through the abstract images from Picasso. The beauty of art is the feelings and thoughts that they invoke and it ought not be judged by public understanding.

Moreover, some arts are known for their openess and elusive nature partially owing to the cultural and language barriers, take for example the chinese comment: "there are a thousand Hamlets in a thousand people’s eyes". The original meaning is no longer crucial and what have been treasured are the infinite interpretations and connections with reality that the arts enabled us to evaluate. Popular music could be one example, the fact that some music are enjoyed aross the continents would demonstrate their value that transcend race, gender and language. Regardless of the original language that the lyrics has been written in, the songs tranquilize or excite our souls, bestowing on us enormous felicity.

Some could argue that arts need to be scrutable in order to become valuable. It would convincing to argue that for a piece of art to bring about social revolution, it must motivate the majority of the population and such position needs to be established on a consensus. The more recondite a piece of art is fewer people would be willing to devote their time exploring the implications of the work. However, something of true value is unlikely to disappear in history, even if it has only been deciphered by a small group the potential merit of the art in the future should not be undermind.

Art are merited for its capability to communicate the emotions of the author with the audiance and to incite and promote creativity. Sometimes art as an accelerator requires it to be comprehensible to the public, however the value of arts generally depends on individual's interpretation and a general understanding amongst people should not be the sole criterion when determining its value.