The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true that the television station should devote more time back to weather and local news, the business manager's argument resides on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions and logical flaws, and thus, is unpersuasive as it stands. To draw a more convincing conclusion to increased weather and local news, more supporting evidence is needed.

First of all, citing of complaints received from viewers, the author reports concerns of coverage of weather and local news. It is not clear, however, what their concerns are. The complaints might be more about the accuracy of the weather forecast, the quality of the local news, the topics being covered, rather than the time. Without the original copies of the comment content, it is hard to be convinced that time is the biggest pain point.

Also, it is unclear that how many people among all the viewers are sharing the same concerns. The author needs to provide data of how many complaints have been received since the change was made, what's the percentage of people complained comparing the total number of viewers, and if the number of complaints increased after the change, to really prove that the shortened local news and weather annoys the majority of the show's viewers.

Additionally, the author implies that local businesses are canceling their advertising contracts because the now shorter weather and local news. While local businesses would love to have more coverage of local news or weather information, a concrete connection between the show content change and reduce in advertising income is not effectively made. It is likely that they are canceling the ad investment due to many other reasons. The author needs to dig deeper regarding why businesses are canceling contracts by, for example, interviewing them and gather feedback directly from them. If the content change indeed was one of their concerns, it is also very important to understand how big are their concerns. Asking questions like if they are willing to continue the investment with more time devoted to cover local news and weather can be helpful to gauge the impact.

Even if there're advertisers canceling due to the assumed reason, restore time for weather and local news may not avoid revenue loss. What if there're also more increase in advertising investment due to the longer international news coverage? Therefore, the author needs to provide data on the other side of the story — the overall changes in the advertising revenue recently, the number new businesses investment since the change and if the new investments were made due to the longer coverage of the international news — to further support his/her suggestion.

In conclusion, while it may be reasonable that longer coverage of local news and weather will stimulate advertising investment from local businesses, much more evidence needs to be provided to make the argument more convincing.