The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs

The business manager has alleged that without any sound grounds that changing the allocated time to national news in comparison to weather and local news has triggered the television station to lose their listeners. The reasoning line in the argument has overlooked a number of logical assumptions, the importance of which is going to be addressed in the following bodies.

To begin with, the business manager has assumed that everything remains unchanged by the passage of time. To illustrate, the reason why more complaints reported to the television program may have other justifications more than merely allocating more time to national news. In order to eradicate this problem, the business manager should mention the "precise" number of complaints in the past year and year before that.

Moreover, the business manager erroneously claimed that the reason why local businesses have cut their advertising during the news program has been resulted from the time changes of national news and weather and local news. However, there may be other causes which engender this act. One being the economic problems of local businesses which impede them from setting budget aside for advertising. On the contrary, prosperous economic situation might be the cause of cutting the expenses for advertising in that the local businesses have been burgeoned over the past year. Also, there is a likelihood that local businesses have employed other fashions to advertise, namely on the newspapers, by bus wraps, online advertising, and so on, with lower cost and more efficacy.

In addition, the "sufficient" line of reasoning which has been suggested by the business manager is weak in view of the fact that other competitors my have started their work over the past year, which is the harbinger of losing listeners to the television station program. In this situation, altering the time specified to national news compared with weather and local news can not account for losing pecuniary support from local businesses or decreasing the number of listeners. Hence, should the author aim to prove his or her idea, the aforementioned assumptions need to be addressed.

All in all, considering the foregoing flaws in the conclusion construed by the business manager so as to specify more time to weather and local news, the conclusion falls apart only if the unjustifiable reasons referred to are all convincingly solved.