Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As people have more ways to obtain knowledge and make a living, many disparage formal education, understood as the education one receives in conventional schools, because of its restrictiveness. While there are currently many barriers to fulfilling and satisfactory self-development, I subscribe to the notion that formal education is still the best path toward success.

First and foremost, formal education is still the most straightforward method to obtain the prerequisite knowledge for technical or academic jobs, which are the most promising fields. Not everyone will aspire to become a scientist or an engineer, but only through learning in school can they develop the mindset and discipline necessary for such jobs. Technical or academic jobs can lead to more self-development, because they require people to challenge themselves and further their knowledge. Discipline does not have to mean restrictive, and people will have more freedom to discover and choose their life's calling through formal education. One can be intimidated by the seemingly shrinking job market, however, and decides to turn toward trades that can immediately return their time and financial investment. But upon closer inspection, it is clear that technology is on the way to replace most manual tasks that used to require humans, and it is an irreversible trend. As an analogy, it is much more efficient to prepare for the rise of internal combustion engine than to make a faster horse carriage. Trade schools may seem like a great choice that leads to lucrative jobs, but it is only in the short term.

Additionally, many issues people have with formal education do not come from the education itself, but from their circumstances. Inadequate facilities and limited funding can turn many people off. However, within an area, the median salary of those who have a university degree will, for the most part, outmatch those without one. The socioeconomic problems of a region affect most aspects of life within it, and unless one has the mental and financial preparation to seek employment in a different area, striving for a diploma is still the worthiest investment. It is tempting, in a less than ideal environment, to think of all the famous people who became successful without a formal degree. From Bill gates to Einstein, the brightest and most successful seem to scorn formal education. Statistically speaking, those are the outliers; it is not that they depreciated formal education, but the learning environment of the time simply was no longer conducive to their development. As such, for the majority of people, having a formal degree contributes to a more stable career.

In conclusion, despite its drawbacks, formal education remains a trustworthy path to good jobs and self-development. The education system of the world at large is far from perfect, but instead of withdrawing from it, the best course of action is to focus on fixing its problems, simply because the general population still does not have the preparation to move onto more unconventional methods of reliable education.