In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is undeniable that progress in most fields is based in previous achievements, that lead to knowledge which may be the base for new developments. For example, without the invention of electrical systems, the invention of computers would have been implausible. As well as this, modern physics, although absolutely different, has its roots in Newton theories to establish physical models of reality. These two examples support my opinion on this statement, as I am convinced that it is veritable.

Further emphasizing on my point of view, errors and failures are the principal motor of any kind of development, from technological to sportive. Bill Gates, in his early working years, as lots of tyros that starts in a business, was fired from his first job. However, he managed to continue trying to make his dreams true, and this failure in his life led to a better understanding of what industry demanded, and a better focus of his effort. This example can be applied to the case of flaws committed by other people, as they can serve as a model of what should not be done for future researchers. In this sense, it is clear that past experience helps future inventions.

To support the aforementioned opinion, I would also like to highlight that there are many fields of knowledge in which this statement holds true. As physics would not have advanced without research made by Newton, Laplace, and many other investigators, medicine would not be as developed as it is now if it were not for the invention of many medicaments, such as penicillin. Usain Bolt’s world record run would have been much slower if there had not been investigators that polished the running technique and established the most efficient way of training. Regarding education, actual methodologies used to teach children are much more effective than those used before a thorough sociological study about them was taken.

However, it should also be mentioned that there are people who, without a solid theoretical base in their field of knowledge, are able to contribute with their investigation, and make significant contributions. An example of this is Albert Einstein, the worldwide-famous scientist that developed the relativity theory. His works supposed a revolution in physics, as they helped to state that a new paradigm needed to be defined in order to attain a better modelling of physical events. Nevertheless, this kind of cases is, far from common, extremely rare. Thus, taking into account the tiny probability of succeeding in a field of endeavor without previous knowledge, it is not harebrained to vindicate the impossibility of doing that.