Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Education in the United States, as well as in many other developed countries, has become increasingly regulated and formulaic with time. Because of the customs and formalities that are now omnipresent in our schooling systems, some skills and important life lessons are absent from curriculum and are instead replaced with skills that are easier to quantify. Formal education has the ability to set our minds free, but in its current state, it often holds us back.

Though formalities have made education available to all on a national scale, they also have limited the number of ways one is able to teach and learn. For many, learning is not only achieved through lectures and textbooks. Hands-on experience, reciprocated conversation, and real-life examples are all tools that teachers can employ to help students fully understand a concept or idea. As formalities have become central to the learning process, these tools are replaced with standard lecture and test formats that don’t allow room for varied learning styles. This restriction not only limits the capacity that students have to learn, but also restrains their ability to think critically and adaptively in situations in which this standard is not present such as in a work environment.

The current standard of education is not only limiting to how teachers can get information across, but also what information is presented. Institutionalized testing is required for most high schools and colleges, which forces educators to prepare students for exams that test only specific, unchanging topics. Math, base general science, and basic history are ubiquitous amongst tests that high schoolers are required to take, so teachers must devote extra time to those subjects while skimming over others, leaving gaps between content.

Many of the subjects that are skimmed over or skipped completely are those within the arts. Music and art and incredibly important for many students, allowing them to express themselves and develop their minds as creatively as they want. Within our current lecture-formatted and STEM-focused schooling system, these subjects are an afterthought. Offered as an elective, music and visual arts courses usually require additional money from the students, all while not counting towards any graduation requirements. These two factors combined dissuade students from exploring them, therefore restraining our minds when we haven’t yet even realized their potential to develop us as people.

Formal education has certainly brought advantages to schooling, as regulations help us make sure that no student is left behind. The content and delivery seems to create an equal playing field for students to learn, but it ignores how students may need non-lecture formatted classes to truly succeed. It also neglects subjects that do not fit so neatly into this lecture format, with the arts receiving less attention than other subjects. Because of these factors, formal education in its current state restrains us much more than it does free us to become autonomous and independent people.