In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Though this argument initially seems strong, there are a few assumptions that, without clarification, make the argument weak and insufficient. We cannot unequivocally argue that Mason City should increase its budget for river maintenance without addressing three unknowns: who took the survey, the questions on the survey, and who made the resident complaints.

The first assumption this argument makes is that the sample used in the survey is generalizable to the entire population of Mason City. We do not know whether the survey was distributed to all residents in the city or if only houses near the river were solicited. The argument also fails to account for any participant bias as those who enjoy water sports may be more likely to respond than those who are uninterested. Without this information, we cannot report that Mason City residents value water sports as we do not know which Mason City residents we are specifically referring to.

In order to make a robust argument for a budget increase, we must know that residents enjoy water sports and will use the space if it is provided and maintained for them. Similarly to knowing how sampling bias plays a role, knowing how the questions were asked to participants is crucial in understanding how the residents answered. The passage reports that residents rank water sports among their favorite recreational activities, but we are left guessing about how this was operationalized. The participants may have rated different activities on a scale, or they may have been asked what they do most with their free time, but we are not given that information. This information is needed to argue for a budget increase as the questions may have elicited different answers depending on how they were asked.

The final assumption that this article makes is that the complaints from residents are significant and numerous. We know that the state responded to complaints after some number of years, but we do not know if it was a response to many average residents complaining or a only few powerful people within the city complaining. We also do not know if the same people had complained multiple times or if each complaint was filed by a different individual. Understanding the profile of residents who complained is necessary in this argument as it demonstrates the impact of a neglected river.

The argument presented supports a budget increase for maintenance of the Mason City river to better serve the residents who enjoy water sports. Though it cites a survey and resident complaints as evidence that the community would support this budget increase, we are left without important details about the profile of the residents who took the survey as well as those who complained. We are also not given any information about the operationalization of 'favorite recreational activities', so we don't know how participants were responding.