The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Every nation in the world are great on their own way .The prompt says that the the welfare of people is a better indication of a nation’s greatness than the achievement of rulers , artists or scientists. I mostly disagree with this suggestion and argue that the intellectuals and rulers achievements are the right indicators whenmeasuring a nation’s greatness. I will present three reasons behind my6 stance which I will elucidate below. Nevertheless, I do concede that , the general people do have the characteristics to make any one nation great.

To begin , I would like to point out that , the great peoples always inspire others to attain greatness as well : which is why they are such good influencers . For instance , Maurice Ralph Hilleman was a great physician who invented 40 vaccines , which saves 8 million people every year . He was greatly inspired by scottish physician Alexander Fleming . So , we see , great minds inspires people through their work and thus more people who always strive for excellence : for the betterment of their respective nation and for humanity as a whole. Which in turn make the nation more prosperous and better.

Another reason for my view is that , when a particular city or country I famous for producing great minds , brilliant people from around the world fo there to learn from them , which make that particular city full of people with exceptional intellectual abilities. As an example , during the Renaissance period in 14th century , people from around the Europe went to Florence , Italy to come in the contact of great minds like Galileo Galilei , Tycho Brahe and learn from them . The greatness of the Renaissance artists make Florence the leading nation in world in art and philosophical argument .

Great peolple make about revolutionary changes which layperson simply cannot do . Leaders like Lee Kuan changed the face of Singapore in around 5 decades . From a small fishing town , Singapore has become one of the most developed country in the world . Ramanujan , a great Indian mathematician , went to study in Uk and contributed heavily in the field of Coordinated mathematics . Pirgj made dramatic changes in the abstract art version . We see the pattern of people of great intellect , great rulers , and great scientists made changes which have lasting effect in their nation and propelled them into higher position of respect .

Nevertheless , general people of a country do show the indications of a successful nation . Countries like Sweden , Iceland , Finland are ranked heavily in World rankings in happiness and their people are content with welfare system of their country . These countries adopted Social democracy and excelled in making the life of their citizans better which reflected in all these surveys . However , although these are good indicators , not every country wold have such success . We see far more examples of countries who have excelled because of the greatness of their artists , intellectual and as such .