The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's

greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most

compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A nation can be deemed to be great if it can assert its dominance in every sector of life including health, economy and defence. These factors are goverened by the vast majority of its population, who actually work in these sectors, and ensure progress of the country. Notably, these people will ensure the progress of their nation only if they feel that the nation is taking care of them, and that they get to enjoy the benefits of the country’s overall progress. Hence, the welfare of the general public is crucial for a country’s greatness.

The artists of a nation are representative of the country’s cultural heritage, and have very little to do with its current global status. Global dominance depends on how progressive a nation is, and how willingly it accepts modernisation and globalisation, so that it can ensure a good . Hence, an artist’s achievements do not tell much about the nation’s greatness. Similarly, a scientist’s inventions would only inform us about the intellectual asset of the country, but if these are not used for the welfare of the general public, they would not contribute to making the country great. A ruler might be successful in his tenure and might have received multiple awards, but unless and until his decisions turn out to be beneficial to the common man, it would not have any impact on the nation.

But it should also be noted that, when these elements of the society work for the noble cause of national development, they can do wonders to the country’s global status. An artist whose artefacts reflect the nation’s qualities can lead to the nation getting global attention, and thus increase tourism. A scientist’s invention, if implemented in a way to benefit the nation, can lead to a better standard of living for the citizens. If a rules takes into account the progress of the nation in the health, economic and defence sectors instead of his own interests while making decisions, the country would rise to power on the global stage.

Hence, I believe that the quality of life of the general public is of utmost importance while trying to decide the greatness of the nation. But rulers, artist, or scientists can also contribute to the nation’s progress by ensuring that their achievements align with the interests of the country.