The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Very frequently we hear saying this or that nation is great. People define greatness according to their values and priorities. However, it is hard to disagree that the general welfare of a nation’s people better illustrates the nation’s greatness if it is based on industrious, purposeful, and organized people.

To begin, the achievements of individuals do not portray the whole picture. Those outstanding personalities simply might be anomalous for a nation. If the poverty, famine, and crime prevails among the society, no one will entitle the nation great, even if a genius is among them. People will probably venerate him all over the world. Nevertheless, the nation will remain undeveloped, insignificant. Someone may claim if a nation has considerable amount of great scientists or artists with remarkable attainments, that nation should be developed enough to produce such personalities. It is not always the case. For example, let us consider a country with a despotic ruler who has some prejudices or obsession of acquiring more and more power over the world. Such a ruler can simply invest the bulk of a budget in designing and production of weapons of mass destruction which will result in new inventions and great scientists, however the society will be impoverished. This nation would hardly be called great. Thus, if a country has ingenious people with astounding achievements but the general well-being of the society is miserable, it implies that these attainments are exceptional and do not depict the social milieu.

Moreover, the mere welfare of a nation’s people does not indicate its greatness. If the welfare is based not on nation’s efforts to develop, but just on lucky geographical position rich with oil, there is no much reason to exalt the nation. For example, the Japanese do not have crude oil reserves, they also lack plenty of other minerals. But the general welfare of Japanese people is on the high level due to the technological breakthrough in different areas, especially in automobile manufacturing. But the core reason of their achievements is the personal qualities of their people such as persistence, being committed to their job. Therefore, such nation is worth to be called great not just because of their inventions, or high standard of living, but because of the people capable to make progress and prosper. The following analogy makes this point more apparent. For example, there are two families with good health and equal amount of money. One of the family members are disciplined, very hard-working and tenacious in reaching their goals. They make money by their own efforts. And there is the second family that found hidden treasures. But its members are with no educational degree, with no any desire to reach something in life, who are existing solely on the treasure. It is evident that the first family is much more worthy of respect. Thus, it is not enough to look at people’s well-being to judge the nation.

Some people, however, argue that nation should be considered great when it is known all over the world for its achievements, i.e. the fame makes a nation great. This argument seems fine, however, it is not objective. It is true that outstanding personalities make their nation famous and maybe make people all over the world appreciate the nation. But if some people call such nation great, they do so subjectively according to their feelings and emotions. A mere fact of existence of individuals' achievements cannot logically make a whole nation great. Because, as it was mentioned above, a single person does not represent all people. For example, the achievements of the USSR in science made this country and its nation famous. Even today, the USSR supporters advocate the idea of its greatness. Many of them ignore the fact that the society was poor, the freedom was limited. To call such society great you should turn a blind eye on those facts. Summarizing, nation is a group of people, and should be analyzed as a group of people. A single person, bad he is or good, does not characterize the whole nation. Even if he/she made his/her nation famous.

Obviously, people have the right to decide which nation is great and why. However, according to my logic, the general welfare of a society, constituted by strong people determined to succeed, better indicates a greatness of this nation rather than other factors.