Government are justified in circumventing civil laws when doing so is vital to the protection of national security

The issue posed a critical question; whether it is justifiable for government to circumvent civil laws in the protection of national security or it is not. After considering the issue based on my experiences and History, I think it is quite important to define what the term “National security” means to truly support my position that it is not justifiable for government anywhere in the world to circumvent civil laws (right of the civilians) in the name of “national security” unless the “national security” is in the best interest of the civilians.

First, National security as it has been used the world over is determined by the few people in government and it is what they see deem fit to be consequential to the security of the country. That brings into question the objectivity of Government. Take for instance, in war torn state of Syria, President Assad seeming it fit to withhold the freedom of the press in the name of National security is not very justifiable. Reason being that, it would make the world oblivious to the atrocities going on in the country on her civilian population. President Assad on the other had would think of it has a necessary strategy to win the war at all cost. This is in no way justifiable! The same goes for the Afghanistan and other war torn state. In fact, Government in general has been found to use the occurrence of war to impose certain rules that are directly against civil liberty.

Also, individuals in power tends to turn autocratic if not checked as history has shown. This is the case of monarchs in time past which ultimately led to their downfall. Hence, civil laws tends to check and curtail the activities of government and keep the best interest of civilians in the helm of their decision making process. However, if it becomes justifiable for them to circumvent this laws in the protection of national security as they see it deem fit, they would move towards being autocracy. Hence, it cannot be justified.

There are of course cases whereby it would be in unavoidable for the government to circumvent certain civil laws. Let me illustrate using the Nigerian Boko Haram insurgency; people living in certain part the North Eastern state, Borno, has been prevented from freely moving to places they used to have access to. This is because the places has been ascertained to home insurgent whom are violent. In this certain case, restriction of the movement of civilians is both in their best interest and for the sake of national security. It is in cases like this, whereby the “national security” is tantamount to “civilian security” is it justifiable in my opinion for Government the world over to circumvent certain civil laws.

In all, we all would agree the most difficult aspect of government is the decision making process; where they would have to weigh so many options and make certain concessions. However, circumventing civil laws and liberties for the sake of “national security” is not a justifiable decision unless it is in the best interests of civilians.