Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Government if of the people, by the people, for the people are famous worlds quoted by Abhram Lincoln. This saying is very accurate and descriptive of the topic at hand, government official are elected by the people and respresent them in the democracy by putting forward the idealogies of the people in front of the senate. I agree with the prompt that officials should use their own finejudgement when needed rather carrying out the will of the people, for the following reasons.

Elected officials reprsent the whole area, city or count in an discussion, they are elected by not majority and not the abosulte population. If they were to carry out what the people who elected them told to, they would bring harm to the ones who didn't wish to see them in power due to difference in ideals. If in this case the representative was to act on his own accord while keeping in the mind the rights and intrest of the minority then he would come out as a better leader and person in perspective of the aggregate he was representing. He is likely to them be again elected as he has now gained favour of the minority. If he would have gone by the saying of the people he has been elected by, he would harm the intrests if the minorities and weake sections, creating a rift in the population leading to chaos and unrest in the different sects of the society.

The goal of the repsentative is to fulfill the will of the people he is reprseting while taking into consideration the rights of the weaker sections. He can use any fair means to fullfill his mandate to make the people happy and keep his word. He doesn't necessarily need to listen to what people tell him to do, sometimes people may force him into unethical ways and guresome situations which can tarnish his own self esteem. For instance, people of a country may force its elceted leader to stringent immigration and refugee laws to prevent illegal residents from entering the county and consuming the resources. In this case people may want the leader to deport these people of asylum, doing so will defame the leader in the world's view. He can simply shift them to an area of lower population or area where the resources are in abundance. Doing so will be a win-win situation for both the people and the leader.

So a leader and it's people can ensure a smooth functioning of the country by supporting each other, in these ways the voice of the people gets a say and the situations are managed smoothly by the fine judgement of the leader, without creating any unrest. So it is better if the leader can listen to the people but take the final decision on his own accord.