Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Government officials are appointed to maintain peace in society by working for the welfare of people, but that doesn’t mean that people can boss around them. They should cooperate with each other to build a better society. There is a debate about whether government officials should rely solely on their own judgement or if they should also consider the will of the people they serve. While I partially agree with the notion, I believe that government officials should respect and show interest in the concerns of the people they serve in order to effectively solve problems.

Firstly, government officials undergo a rigorous selection process and dedicate a significant amount of time to preparing for their role. Additionally, they typically have a strong academic background. After completing their studies, they participate in a government training programme that equips them with the necessary skills, critical thinking abilities, and problem-solving techniques to carry out their responsibilities. Through their careers, officials accumulate valuable experience that they can apply in critical situations. This allows them to make informed judgements based on their skills, experience, and expertise.

Furthermore, government officials are given the position and power to work for the betterment of the people they serve. So, they are obligated to consider the welfare of the entire population, whereas people’s will can be subjective. There can be a case where people’s opinions are divided, and if, in such cases, government officials try to follow the will of the people, there will be chaos in society. Without getting swayed by individuals wills, government officials should make decisions considering the overall welfare and future of society.

However, the task of government officials is to think from the people’s point of view, take a middle ground with the people’s will, and make better decisions for society. But if a government official starts to only think from his perspective and judge situations from his point of view, then the decisions made by any official may fail to help people get what they need and instead can harm them. For example, a government official who doesn’t live near a river but thinks a bridge over a river may bring prosperity to that area doesn't take into consideration the consequences people in such areas might have to face due to this decision and may end up destroying the lives of people in that area.

Furthermore, it can increase corruption if a government official is always allowed to follow his own judgement. As is known, these officials are mediators between the people and the government, so if they stop considering the needs of people, it will result in shutting down the screams of people. Some corrupt officials may use this opportunity to collude with powerful people to climb the ladder of success and only satisfy their needs. In this scenario, the people will be left unheard and fall into eternal suffering, though government officials were appointed to bring peace to them.

In conclusion, it cannot be said that government officials should only follow their own judgement or unquestioningly follow the will of the people; rather, a middle ground must be followed by them. Their ultimate goal should be the welfare of people or society; no selfish motives should be included. By maintaining a balance between these two directions, chaos can be avoided in society.