The government should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford tye tution

The speaker states that government must provide free university education to a student who is admitted to a university but cannot afford the education.While government must definitely support student who cannot afford education,providing free university education is not the right solution to the problem.

A governments role is to support poor people by providing them with facilities and resources which they may not be able to afford because of their financial status.However when a student is provided with free university education there are high chances that such a scheme will put constrain on government spending on other public facilities.For example, if a government spends excessively on free university education by cutting spending on various sectors ranging from health and infrastructure then it will result in dissatisfaction amongst people. Such a decision will result in poor health care facilities and lesser job creation which will in turn result in dissatisfaction against the government.

Government should help poor students avail student loans easily and at less interest rate rather than providing them for free.Such a policy will make sure that the student will work hard diligently and does not get very complacent.Once the student gets a decent job he can definitely pay off the loans.Many people would argue that such a policy would create added pressure on a student.Agreed, it will create an added pressure but amidst all of this pressure he will work hard because he will have the thought of paying the student loans off at the back of his mind and thereby creating a decent lifestyle for himself and his family.

To sum up I would like to say that government should provide easy loans for students who cannot afford a university education rather than giving it for free.