The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument states that by limiting the number of mopeds available during the summer season the number of accidents will decrease. While the argument may seem logical and probable, more questions need to be answered before taking the decision.

The argument states that in order to decrease the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrains, the town council of balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. The argument however fails to address the need for alternate transportation required by the people. If not mopeds than what other method of transportation will people on the island use? For instance, if people start using car instead of mopeds, then wont it result in increase in number of accidents between pedestrian and car users?

If the number of mopeds rented by the islands moped companies is reduced than will it not result in job losses of people who work in moped rental companies? Also, riding mopeds might be a major source of tourist attraction on the island. Because of restrictions in the number of mopeds available for rent, the arrival of tourist on the island may dip, which may in turn result in decrease in taxes collected. How will the council cover up the revenue in such a case?

Additionally, the argument states that by limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals. While the rule may have worked on seaville’s island, there is no data which states that similar rule will work on balmer island. The numbers might be of different proportions and hence the effects of rule can be very different.

To sum up, more research needs to be conducted and the above questions needs to be answered before going forward with the decision.