Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying

Fields, broadly speaking could range from arts, commerce, science, sports and more. The students should not be mandated to take courses from each field If they are not interested because that will only consume student’s time and he won’t be able to give enough time to the courses which he really enjoy studying and is passionate about.

One reason, the student should be allowed and given full freedom to choose courses is that the college time is precious and every student should aim to focus as much as they can in right direction that will help them to shape their future. If college do not give student a freedom of choosing subject of their interest then they end up wasting time later to gain knowledge and experience. So studying something one has no interest in is nothing but waste of time and energy. In fact, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Indian Cricketer is perfect example. During his college days along with his studies he was given equal time to play cricket because of all skills and talent he had. From his childhood his parents encouraged him to pursue sports because he was interested and passionate about it. Without college and parent’s support, Mahendra Singh Dhoni could not have been him personality he is today, he is inspiration of many. Moreover, the parents spent huge amount of money on their child’s education so if student feels burdened with all the subjects he is not interested to study than the money is going waste.

Of course not everyone agree that student should be given freedom to choose subjects he is interested in, because many time student is confused and has obscure vision for their future. Or sometimes student is just neutral about every subjects and can also wrongly interpret the interest or passion, during such time it really helps if college offers courses from wide range of fields which will ultimately help student to figure out his own interest. According to research, 30% engineering student go for management studies later in their career, if they are given exposure to management courses implying that they have learned that may be their interest is not really engineering but management because of their exposure to varied fields during their college time. However, it is more likely that engineering student go for PhD and contribute more to the society by his inventions and research so it is always very important for student to choose subject he is interested in for his betterment.