“Governments are justified in circumventing civil laws when doing so is vital to the protection of national

security.”

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your

position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

Governments are justified in circumventing civil laws when doing so is vital to the protection of national security.I cannot agree more with the author on this.

Firstly, I believe that Governments are forced to circumvent or bend laws according to their own convenience only if there is no other option available ,under extreme situations.Their primary intention is to safeguard the lives of people and ensure national welfare so they are entitled to bend certain laws which they themselves created.As long as there is a valid justification for their actions, I believe they are justified in circumventing civil laws.

Secondly, let us take an example of how Government hospitals are run. The general protocol says that before any admission is made to the hospital or any procedure is performed on the patient,consent is required from a relative/guardian of the patient.But certain situations have demanded the authorities to act different as opposed to the protocol and treat the patients on an emergency basis without consent.Consider the 2008 Mumbai terror attacks.People were flooding into hospitals from various parts of the city, some sustaining bullet wounds, some suffering other forms of injuries.The Government thought this was an emergency and did away with the protocol on this occasion and only because of this, they managed to save hundreds of people. Had they followed protocol it would have been difficult to save so many people. But on that day it was all about the welfare of the people, trying to save as many people as possible.

Thirdly, let us take the example of the Pakistan Government. It is a country that has been a victim of many attacks and bombings over the past few years. And due to these activities,cricket came to a standstill in Pakistan and the team had to play their matches outside the country.But after many years, the situation improved and teams started visiting Pakistan again.But immense security was provided to both the national team and the visiting team. Presidential level Security was provided in order to neutralise any chances of an attack and keep the players safe.So the Government chose to break protocol and provide the players with this kind of security to keep them safe.

Lastly, I do believe that it is necessary to follow civil laws and of course they are designed keeping in mind every situation but some times the best option for the country is to bend certain rules in order to ensure national security.