Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive, because it is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The author claims that government must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive, because it is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated. I strongly disagree with the statement. One can also rewrite the statement as, the government will provide financial support to the major cities and in return they should preserve the nation's cultural traditions.

First point here is, major cities in any country do not preserve nation's cultural traditions. In fact cities plays the major role in alteration of the nation's cultural traditions and values. All the major cities have a lot impact of modernization. For example the major cities in India are all influenced by western culture, which in fact is modernization according to the native people of cities, and in the process they almost forgot about the traditional values and culture of the country. Second point is, cities are not the only place where culture is preserved. The rural area of the country is the actual place where traditions and cultural values are kept live. Every person in rural areas celebrates the traditions.

I agree with the fact that government should provide all the financial support to the cities, but that is because the cities have all the industries, all sort of business and good education system which helps people to be independent, to grow financially as well as morally and it also affect the economy of the country. Financial support from government is the key factor in the development of the nation.

Finally, off course the financial support from government is necessary for major cities of the country, but it is for overall development of the nation and not for the preserving the traditional values. The place where traditional values are kept alive is the rural area of the country and government should not ignore the this fact when it comes to supporting financially to various parts of the country.