Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Securing one's country in this ever-competing world is one of the most crucial roles of the government. Right from protecting the borders of the country to maintaining peace inside the country, it is the government's responsibility to help the country flourish. However, the author suggests that governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military. I strongly disagree with the statement made by the author since securing a country is far more important than promoting art.

To begin with, as neighboring countries have been increasing their military power, it threatens each country to have an equal or greater hold on their military force. If a country is well secured on its borders, the citizens of the country would be able to live a peaceful life, therefore helping them to continue their goals and in turn, contributing to the uplifting of the country. For instance, countries like Pakistan which are known for the terrorists that reside in them, the neighboring countries like India, UAE, etc. need to have a strong military situated on their borders because if these terrorists infiltrate the country, it would be deleterious for the working of the country. Furthermore, they could even harm the government property due to which the expenditure of the government would increase. Therefore in order to maintain peace throughout the country, promoting the military would be far more effective than investing in arts, as art would not directly help in the existence of the country.

In addition to this, a strong military force would always help maintain order throughout the country. As the government invests more in the military, the police force would also be affected greatly providing them more stability. This would in turn enforce a stringent rule for the citizens and avoid them from committing crimes. Since the crime rate would decrease, it would surely benefit the country and help the citizens develop a sense of safety that would help them grow in the country itself. For example, many of the citizens move to other countries because they do not feel safe in their own countries. If the government can provide this safety to the citizens, it would definitely encourage the citizens to stay in their own country and contribute to the development of the country.

However, some may argue that a developed art can attract tourism that can help the government in revenue. But the question arises that whether tourism or the safety of the people is important? Art would help the country to get popular in the world and also may attract a myriad amount of tourists, but if the government is not able to protect these tourists itself, would the rate of this tourism increase? The rate of tourism would gradually decrease because the tourist would not be safe while visiting the country. Therefore though the government should invest in art too, the amount invested in the military should be greater since the safety of the citizens and tourists is far more important.

To conclude, the government plays a fundamental role in deciding the country's future development, and considering the overall development of the country, it is very critical to create a sense of safety and shelter among the citizens. This can be only done if the citizens feel safe in their country, hence the government should invest more in the military and develop effective advances in it that would help the country flourish.