An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

In response to vitamin A deficiency among the impoverished nation of Tagus, an international development organization suggests that the government of Tagus should do everything they can to promote a new type of millet that is high in vitamin A engineered by the organization. The organization comes to this conclusion based on the assumption that in order to counter the deficiency of vitamin A, consumption of this new breed of millet will benefit the citizens greatly. However, the author hasn't provided any cogent scrutiny for the argument, hence, in order to further properly evaluate the argument made by the author, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, the question arises whether the only way to eradicate the deficiency in vitamin A is to engineer a new breed of millet? In addition to this would this method be efficient enough? It is possible that there are many other techniques by which the government would counter this problem. Rather than just introducing a new breed of millet, the international development organization could provide funding to the government of Tagus so that they could provide supplies that are rich in vitamin A and various other nutrients. This would surely soothe the current situation of the country. Furthermore, it might be possible that the root cause of vitamin A deficiency has raised since the majority of the populace is poor and cannot afford nutrient-rich food. If either of these statements holds true, the argument made by the international organization would be weakened significantly.

Secondly, since the millets cost more, the cost at which it is being sold might also be high. Therefore it is possible that though the farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet, the overall cost of farming would surpass the budget that would in turn result into rise of the crop price. If this happens then the people of the impoverished nation of Tagus would not be able to purchase the crop and the assumption of the organization would be broken down. In addition to this, there is a probability that the demand for the previous millet would increase, but due to the decreased supply of it, the prices of the millet would also increase. This would be deleterious for the overall health of the citizens since they would shift to some other cheaper source of food that might not be rich in nutrients. Hence, if the above statements are true then the argument would not hold water.

Thirdly, though millet is a staple food in Tagus, it is possible that a major part of the population doesn't consume it. There is a possibility that miller is popular in only a few parts of the country, hence changing the breed of the millet would not affect the overall health of the country. In addition to this, engineering a new breed may result in changes in the methods of farming. This change in the traditional method of farming may not be adopted by all farmers though they are paid subsidies. This would imply that the production of the new type of millet would not increase drastically and would not be consumed by the citizens on a large scale. Therefore, it would have next to no effect on the issue of vitamin A deficiency. If this would be true, the recommendation for supplanting the original breed of millet with a new breed would be irrelevant and weakened significantly.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above three questions and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed suggestion to encourage the consumption of the new type of millet engineered by the international development organization.