Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.
The world is growing in various different ways every-day. With this growth in various
spectrums, it is of utmost importance to move ahead with the everchanging world. Living in a
democratic society, it is essential to feel safe in your own surroundings, hence having a
strong military force proves to aid this feeling of safety. With growing nuclear strength all
around the globe, it is truly of the highest importance to invest a large amount of the nation’s
wealth into building a strong military team to provide safety to all the citizens of the nation.
The preference of amount of investment spent for military purposes should outweigh that of
the arts infrastructure of the nation. These arts could include anything from theatre to
clothing, etc.
A strong military force can prove to be much more important towards the overall
development of the nation. As we see in the world today, nations like China, India and the
United States of America dominate the economical market and are considered to be a
superpower. Most of the factors making them a superpower are calculated through the
military force they possess. While these nations do not lack behind in the artistical
department, a larger amount of the nation’s wealth is spent on the nuclear facilities, army
and navy and other military services required to maintain the overall safety of the nations.
Having these strong forces can aid to the overall development of the nation while also
keeping the citizens of the nation’s happy and content with their living situation. As the
feeling of safety is directly proportional to the overall wellbeing of individuals, these
investments help provide the citizens with maximum satisfaction, as the money invested is
what one considers, “Tax-Payers” money.
On the contrary, spending adequate amounts of capital on building artistical facilities is
crucial to grow into an economical power. Not as equals but artistic infrastructure proves to
aid the overall growth of the nation. The superpower nations in today’s day and age, along
with having strong military power, also possess a well-managed art industry. The arts and
entertainment industries like Hollywood and Bollywood, portray how much of a difference
having a monopoly in these industries make in putting a nation ‘on the map’ and making
them economically and socially sound.