Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

he speaker suggests that the government should offer college and university education for free to all students. The idea though is luring, at first sight, because it helps in providing education to all, it is close to impossible to implement it practically. I disagree with speaker because given the expenses involved to maintain a university or a college with state-of-the-art facility it will cost the government a lot of money which cannot be afforded. Also, there will be lack of interest or zeal in the students as nothing is being charged; It is common experience that things that come for free are not valued.

First, to establish and maintain a top university with state-of-the-art research equipment and facilities involves huge sums of money. It is impractical for the government to undertake such high-stake responsibility without suitable remuneration. Unless there are a lot of trustees who are willing to support the government in this endeavor, it will fail to see the daylight. Even with the funding, it is not possible to establish university at such large-scale to make it free of charge to all. More importantly, such organization fund only when a brand is established which takes time. The support of the students with their fee is a must to maintain the high quality college. For instance, it is being seen that it impossible to maintain public universities like UCB or UCSD without the aid of fees of the student. Even with the nominal fee, these universities are facing a tough challenge competing against the likes of MIT, Stanford and CMU.

Second, to maintain such free institutes certain compromises are to be made like paying low salary to professors or teachers, hiring few support staff and lack of grass-root maintenance employees. This will put a lot of pressure on the professors as they now have a lot of responsibility on their shoulder apart from teaching and research but without commensurate incentives. This is lead to them resigning and leaving for private institutions resulting in deterioration in the quality of the education imparted at such free universities. University of Texas, Austin is a great example, it is losing out quality researchers for CMU and Stanford even after putting a lot of effort in grooming them. This is the case in spite of the fact that the institute takes a nominal fee from the student, just imagine the situation without having to pay the fee.

However, some may argue that this is important to provide education to all. But instead of making it free for all, keeping in mind the real life situation, a subsidy should be offered to economically backward class student as they are not able to afford education. Also, scholarship must be granted to meritorious students from humble background. I feel such practical endeavors must be pursued instead of the aforementioned.

In sum, though providing education to all students free of charge is compelling. It lacks practicality and will lead to compromises in aspects which are crucial for the success of the students. It is eventually quality of education and not quantity that matters.