Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education plays a very important role in every individual's life. We are living in an era where education is incomplete without college or university level of education. For a holistic development of a country, the government should make sure that the students receive education. But this doesn’t necessarily mean that the government has to fund their education completely.

As we all know that cost of education has been increasing steadily. Every college or university has to spend a considerable amount on the infrastructure, research, pay for the faculty, etc. Every college/university compensates these expenses by collecting tuition fee from the students. It is practically impossible for any government to offer college and university education free to all its students as it has to indirectly pay for the amenities of every college or university. Apart from this there are many reasons. One of the most important thing is the size of student population. Every nation has a very large student body and not even the richest country can afford to provide free university and college education too every one of them! One more important reason is that even though every government is aware of the importance education, there are other equally important matters which requires considerable amount of the government's funding. The government has to commensurate the revenue amount it gets so that every sector such as defense, health, etc., gets enough resources for its own operations. Thus, it is not economically possible for any government to offer free college and university education to all its students.

Also, there are chances that if the government starts offering free education, students might take this for granted and misuse the opportunity. Every individual peruses their education for different reasons: some would like to gain more knowledge and experience in a particular field; some may peruse college in order to get a job and support their family and there are some students who study due to their parent's pressure. There are high chances that these students might lose their motivation to study and achieve since they are getting their education for free. They will not know the value of the education that is being provided since they are not paying for it. Thus, the main objective of this plan might fail.

But the government can provide college and university education to students who belong to a poor family. With education becoming a costly affair, this will be very useful for aspiring students who cannot afford to spend for college or university fee. Also, these students can work for the college in research or related field during their term of study or after their graduate as a compensation for their tuition fee.

In conclusion, education is very much essential for every individual. But making the government pay for every student's college/university education is not a wise choice. Instead the government can provide scholarships for under privileged students.