Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and
development.
Scientific Research and Development has proven to be extremely crucial for humans.Mankind's urge to quench its thirst for curiosity and to ameliorate
its chances of survival, has led to various inventions. All of these inventions , from inventing the wheel to building and launching space rockets,
are all the outcomes of research and development in science , which makes it essential to have the same. One of the negative virtues of
humans is greediness which might lead to unethical and possibly dangerous experiments which leads me to believe that the government has a role to
play in regulating and restricting scientific research and development activities.Government being the body which ideally works towards the progress
of the country must not be oblivious to the scientific research and development that is present in the country.
There is room for experiments involving hazardous elements such as Uranium, Plutonium which have adverse effects on the planet like
DNA mutation, imbalance in ecosystems, etc when not performed in a safe environment. In the past, it was witnessed that some scientists
performed cruel experiments on human brains which lead to undesirable behaviour of the subject of the experiment that led the government
to intervene and ban such experiments.
Managing resources for the research is as important as the research itself as sometimes the resources used in the research could be
in the verge of endangerment or it might be a banned product in the country which makes it illegal for the usage of it. Hence , I believe government should
play a role in keeping track of the procurement process and impose restrictions on such as the quantity and type of resource
used in the research. On the other hand imposing too many restrictions might hamper the pace and progress of the research .
It is important to strike a balance in imposing the restrictions by the goverment.
In conclusion , I strongly agree that there must be some restrictions imposed by the government to regulate the research and at the same time
keep it just enough to not hamper the progress of the scientific development.