Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

We have often heard the famous saying, “Science is necessary evil”. There must have been some reason to coin this term. There have been several instances in which scientific research and development have aided to both constructive and destructive outcomes. Even, though most of the scientific research aids in betterment of everyday life, but there needs to be a few restrictions which should prevent the misuse of scientific development as well.

Today, research in biological and nuclear fields are highly controversial. In field of biological research, there are several strides of development which help in curing deadly diseases and moreover help people protect themselves from deadly outbreak. However, there also lies a dark side to this. Several private organisations might aid in creating biological weapons of mass destruction, which aids in culturing deadly viruses which accelerate mass killing of people silently. Apart, from that, in the field of Nuclear research, there lies both possibilities. Nuclear energy is slowly becoming a popular form for producing huge amount of electrical energy for powering large cities. But nonetheless, some private organisations are also misusing nuclear research to weaponise nuclear weapons, which have the ability to destroy an entire city in seconds. This is evident from the Hiroshima and Nagasaki incident. Thus, there is a necessity for the establishment of certain regulations which prevent scientific research and development that abets in mass destruction.

Another example, in which the regulation on scientific research and development became mandatory was cloning. It was in the late 1970s and 1980s when scientists were able to produce the first clone of sheep, Dolly. However, restrictions had to be put on the scientific research and development, because of the possibility of using it to clones to human beings. If, this restriction wouldn’t have been put in place, then it could have serious consequences like impersonation in crime. Thus, even though it might seem discouragement for scientists, however, this was essential to maintain an order in society.

While, it is evident there needs to be some restrictions, however, it should not be so strict that it aids important research and development. For example, if research on human DNA is prohibited due to possibilities of cloning, then there won’t be important inventions such as stem cell therapy, which are very effective treatment for certain terminal diseases.

Thus, Scientific Research and Development has both boon and bane. No matter, how helpful they help in improving our everyday life, we can nevertheless undermine the possibility of it being misused. Therefore, for these grim chances of being misused, certain restrictions are necessary to be put on the research and development.