Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Should government pose few restrictions on scientific research and development in all cases? Some people believe that claim is greatly beneficial, but I can not fully agree with this view point for two reasons. First, the resources are limited. Second, there are uncertainty and unsafety.

To begin with, it should be acknowledged that placing fewer restrictions on scientific research and development is conducive to the development in certain aspects.This recommendation is a commendable policy for many scientists, which would surely exert a positive influence on stimulating innovations and creativity. Hence, the experimental environments would be broader and the researchers can explore more unknown fields.For instance, in the field of space exploration, people have enjoyed so many benefits it provided, such as stepping on the moon, GDP and global monitoring. No one could say that the scientific attempt in the space is bound to improve the qualities of people.What's more, the project is a tremendous and it has taken a considerable amount of time, money and energy. To be more specific, if governments put more restrictions on these researches, the technology and human-being could not be improved such rapidly.

However, the writers' over-optimistic attitude is betrayed, which is supported by an unsubstantiated assumption: the resources can be enough. If we humans have superfluous energy, time, money and resource, we could explore more to benefit the whole human being.But nowadays the resources on the earth are limited and we have more serious issues waited to be solved. COVID-19 in 2019 serve as a simple but persuasive example. When the epidemic broke out, people were threatened by the sever illness. The government at that moment ought to put more some restrictions to the less sever fields and focused on the immediate effects to save and rescue people. Indeed, most governments put their attention to inventing vaccines to protect the people from being infected. In this scenario, government should put more supports to the current pressing issues rather than the less serious scientific development.

Additionally, people should always bear in mind that the consequences of some scientific experiments are unforeseeable. They could possibly bring us certain benefits, but uncertainties and threatens which would endanger human being as well.For example, nowadays many countries are doing researches on the nuclear energy. We can not deny that nuclear energy provides a new idea of solving the problem of energy shortage. However, we also see the sever pollution and radiation to the oceans, the earth and human being, which make many people become sick. Another example is gene-editing technology.We seek hopes to this development to rescue more people, but no one could predict what we could be in the future after widely using it.We are also facing the risks that it might be misused to kill people.

To summarize, I concede that in certain occasions few restrictions are beneficial, but governments should not enable it to develop freely. The goal of scientific research and development is to improve the well-being of the whole human being, and governments are supposed to support it.