The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

We know a myriad of great personalities, born on earth, who are rewarded with recognition and distinction. The time when they were rewarded, before or after their dismal, is contentious as this highly depends on when the impact of their work was seen. Therefore, I disagree with the given claim that the greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries. This is a very strong statement and is not true in all the cases.

First of all, when a great area of audience is impacted by the work of a person, that person’s greatness is uncovered in front of the world. Thus, as said in the introduction, timing of this event is greatly contingent upon what contribution is the individual making and who are the audience of this, present or future generation. For example, in the domain of acting, Indian actors like Amitabh Bachan, Shahrukh Khan, etc have received prodigious number of awards for their veteran acting skill. Same is the case of sport, boxer like Mary Kom, cricketer like Sachin Tendulkar have been recognised for their amazing sports skill by their contemporaries and will be remembered by the future generations too.

On the similar line, let us wander on the path of technology, where many great figures like Elon musk, Bill gates have created history with their work while they are alive and are immensely applauded by their peers. Every one is aware of their adeptness.

However, if we take example of freedom fighters like Bhaghat Singh, Maulana Azaad, we see that their contribution was discerned after their dismal. Once, people got independence, they realized the struggle these fighters went through in order to make the impossible happen. Apart for the timing of impact, it also depends on area of audience impacted by the person’s contribution. For an instance, mothers- an epitome of sacrifice and greatness- most of the time, don’t get the amount of respect they deserve. On the other hand, because Mother Teresa contributed to broader horizon of people, her work was recognized with respect. A person, no matter how talented/ magnanimous he is, due to lack of propaganda, their work remains disguised.

In summary, an individual’s contribution is recognised when people see the impact they have made and is not dependent on generation. Once, people see the impact, either directly or through propaganda, they cherish the great work of the individual.