The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of

human minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with

the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or

might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Many hollywood movies deal with apocalytical worlds where machines have surpassed the human power and became rulers of the planet. Not much real-life concerns appear to be given considering general reactions from their audiences: After all, it is just a science-fiction hollywood movie. But is it really? The field of Machine Learning is an exploding and pioneering scientific area. In actually, machine learning has been proven to be superior to human minds in inconceivable number of areas, and its cerebral evolution is occuring faster than anything we can imagine. To put forward a position that human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds resembles stances taken by people with Geocentric views back in 17th centuries.

The game of Go is a chess-like strategic game where players place stones to declare and defend their terriotories on a 19-by-19 game board. Since stones can be removed when caught, there are infitite number of scnearios available in a Go match. An AI research team of Google created an artifically intelligent Go program called Alpha-Go, and challenged Lee Se Dol, the ranked number one Go player in the world. Lee accepted the challenge and, in a five games series, Lee only won once, and lost four times. This was nothing like when a Chess-playing program won the number one Chess player because Alpha-Go did not employ the algorithms of search-for-all-cases. It instead 'learned' from several thousands from previous matches between professional Go players and calculated contribution of each move to winning and losing, just like what a very intelligent person would do, but only it did better. And such proclivity is not only confided in Go. Health watches that detect abnormal biological signs are much more accurate and quicker than what humans can conceive: there has been many instances where health monitoring watch warned an abnomal activity in bodily function although the person never felt anything, turned out the detection was correct.

The indications of superiority of machines in many areas are only augmented by the rapid growth of artifical intelligence. Ten years ago, driving a car in a highway without a driver in it was something unimaginable. Now, it is something in its later stages of development and just few steps away from launching to the public. AI-driven robots used for emergent situations will be improved to qualities that they can replace firefighters and policemen exposed to high level of dangers, thanks to their improved spatial awareness and superior decision making.

Machines are already better than human minds in certain fields and are evolving so rapidly that I suspect that some day artificial intelligence will surpass intelligence of humans in nearly all aspects. As irony as creator becoming inferior to the created, we must make sure that misuse of artificial intelligence is a perennially potential danger and try our best to control it and take advantage of it for the better.