Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology is now an essential part of our lives: You can't turn around and not see a person with a palm-sized

smartphone, a laptop no bigger than a thin book. Technology has privileged us with significant curtailing of time used on transportation, communication, and other quotidian routines, and it has expanded its influences on ways students are taught in educational institutions. Paper textbooks, paper-based testings, offline meetings are now being replaced by e-textbooks, computer-based tests, and online meetings through video-calling platforms, which has resulted in efficient time management and saving of would-be wasted papers and inks. Considering the efficiency of such innovations, one can easily posit that the Internet offers schools improved methods for instructing students, a hardly refutable postulation. However, a solid ground as to claim that these technologies often distract students from real learning also appears to be profound.

It is very important to point out the positives of utilizing video-sharing platforms and internet-based lectures. Consider for recording of school lectures. Thanks to the newly approached way of education, a student who missed out on a class due to illness can more easily catch up, the entire student body can now see interconnectivity between lectures taken in different dates with ease, people who were in need of quality education but unaccessible due to constraints now have access. Also, utilization of e-textbook enabled a significant reduction of cost for buying a textbook, make it more easily accessible to ones who otherwise would not have been able to afford. With all the positives of those innovations considered, however, it exacts a double-edged sword.

There is an apparent psychological phenomenon that a person is less likely to change certain behaviors unless a level of uncomfortability exceeds that of their minimal thresholds for fixation. To delineate, a person is likely to continue studying something unless the level of temptation to do otherwise exceeds the current level of comfortability of studying. A student in a library is more likely to study more efficiently than a student in his/her own room with a Queen-sized soft bed right next to him/her. Presence of the comfortable bed plays as a factor to reduce the level of resistance to continue studying. Now, smartphones and labtops are leading runners of 'a click away' disposition. When using a labtop, you are always a click away from searching for controversial celebrity issues, or social media posts shared by your friends, independent of how concentrated you are in studying. So, with a single perturbance in your mind, you are already wasting your time in Facebook or Youtube, thanks to a lowered level of threshold caused by the presence of the very device you used to study. In contrast, such threshold levels can greatly increase by setting yourself up in a condition where it is hard and uncomfortable for you to get distracted: turn off your smartphone, study in a no-electronics library, which coincides with

the old-fashioned way of studying. In that sense, technology that allowed people to access quality education with better time management is the very source that caused a tendency to disengage from true concentration on studying.

Above accounts clearly demonstrate the fact that although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet offers schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract students from efficient learning. It appears, that, considering the current level of distraction internet is producing, a solution of propriety would be to raise awareness of possible downsides of exploiting internet as an educational mean to students, and teach them how to best resist temptation of misusing the internet. All in all, the claim propounded by the author, is a legitimate one.