If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The ethical issue of if a worthy goal can justify for any means taken to achieve it, regardless of how bad they are, has been a controversial one. Many people argue that the means are not important, as long as an honorable end is reached. Others disagree, contending that the means are as important as the goals, and everything you do needs to follow a moral code. Personally, I concur with the latter opinion due to the following reasons and examples.

First, the law is created to define the ethical limit of an action and it is obvious that everyone must follow the law. One of the situations that is the most controversial is in the war. In World War II, the Allies ordered air bombing into civilian areas, with the reasons that this would devastate the spirit of Germany and Japan, and force them to surrender, thus shorted the war. This action violated the law of war that said to only target military locations, or economical important spots. Many civilians were denied the right of freedom of choice, as the Allies chose the death for them. The peak of horror was when the America dropped 2 nuclear bombs on Hiroshima and Nagasaki city. Hundreds of thousands died in a blink of an eye, and to this day there are still thousands of people die every day due to the sequela of the bombings. I doubt that not many soldiers and general can come to term with themselves and sleep well when they know about the horrible effect of the bombs.

Second, there are many cases that the means are better than the goals. As an old saying “the journey is better than the destination”, sometimes the experience that we get along the way are more important than the results, and it is still important even if we do not attain the goal. Success achieved by cutting corners is volatile and vulnerable, and it can go away at any moment. For example, there are students who cheat to get good grade. Although good grade can bring them better opportunities after graduation, it can only bring them this far. A high-grade student but without knowledge is no way better than a low-grade student but actually tried to learn and eventually imbibe the knowledge. You can also learn more in failure and struggle, as I understand it fully through learning programming. Nowadays, there are many tools and code libraries that are readily available to make the engineering tasks much easier, but by doing everything from scratch, you can learn a lot, even if you cannot make the thing work.

In conclusion, the claim is only true to some extent, as we, humans, need to hold our actions to a certain ethical and moral standard, and sometimes the experience we get from achieving or not achieving the goal is more valuable than the goal itself.