Important truths begin as outrageous, or at least uncomfortable, attacks upon the accepted wisdom of the time

The common use of the phrase "historical attitudes" and particularly "historical mistakes" gives credence to the idea that the accepted wisdom is a continuously changing concept. As uncomfortable as it is to accept the prospect that today's wisdom is the correct wisdom or the correct truth, it is far likelier that future generations will find holes in our current accepted wisdom. Going against accepted knowledge is unlikely to be a comfortable position for all of society to reconcile. Given these ideas I find myself wholeheartedly agreeing with the statement provided.

Accepted wisdom is not necessarily the product of careful scientific and methodical observation of the world around us. It is very likely that the wisdom is knowledge that advantages certain parts of society more than others. Those that are disadvantaged by the prevailing wisdom of a time eventually realize that the wisdom given may not be indicative of a deeper more fundamental truth and therefore start to attack commonly accepted knowledge and often guide us towards a greater truth about ourselves. For millennia across many societies around the world darker skin tones were associated with lower class blue-collar labor and lower intelligence. However as people of color started to push back against this wisdom that skin tone is correlated with intelligence, they made those previously advantaged by this wisdom deeply uncomfortable. A century ago it was commonly accepted that black people had lower intellect than white people, but, as a result of the civil Rights movement, the accepted wisdom regarding race and intelligence has changed and those holding previously ubiquitous views are now considered mistaken.

Society typically likes to believe that it is doing the right thing at a given time, therefore attacks on commonly held beliefs are likely to be perceived as outrageous and with discomfort. Most members of society also don't consider critically thinking about every aspect of their lives. That for certain knowledge is passed down from generation to generation is considered the received wisdom for that particular generation and is also considered to be an unassailable truth. However iconoclasts are always going to push back against this received wisdom and sometimes there pushing back veda's towords a greater truth. This particular phenomenon is made extremely clear when considering the origins of new religions. Hinduism was the prevailing read religion in India until Buddhism started to attack it in an outrageous and uncomfortable manor. To the Buddhists of today these attacks have become important truths.

Our knowledge of the world and our perception of it is a deeply dynamic concept. While it would be convenient to consider that our thought about the world around us evolves without friction, without outrage, and at a pace that is comfortable to us, the reality is that change is uncomfortable changes outrageous and change is inevitable. Therefore I wholeheartedly agree that attacks on today's accepted wisdom can often become tomorrow's important truths.