"Important truths begin as outrageous, or at least uncomfortable, attacks upon the accepted wisdom of the time."

It is proven that truth is needed for the advancement of mankind. It is the truth that shows the way to enlightenment and progress. However, historically truth is not accepted comfortably rather it is seen as an opposition to the conventional wisdom, but over time people grasp the truth for their own development.

If we look at history, we can find many examples of how people of many eras opposed accepting new knowledge over their traditional views. For instance, once it was thought that the earth is flat and when scientists proved that the earth is round, clergymen opposed this view because it contradicted their religious beliefs. They found the new knowledge or new idea as an attack upon their wisdom, therefore they were reluctant to accept new ideas.

An even more interesting example could be the invention of “the pen”. When the pen was invented, it was declared an alien tool to society and many intellectual at that time discouraged people to use pens for writing. According to those intellectuals, using pen and writing things would lessen their own memory usage which in turn would make them fragile in terms of remembering things. So, they actually perceived the pen as an innovation that would harm their mental ability. However, now we know the significance of writing and the wide use of pen for that.

Similarly, one might find instances of punishment in history for generating opposing views or theories. Take, the incident of Copernicus, a scientist, as an example. He was convicted for maintaining that the sun moves around the earth because the churches at that time believed otherwise. This type of example depicts that every society has some stereotypes that they do not want to be proven wrong. They want to maintain their traditional and conventional views firmly and any contradicted views are seen as an attack on their wisdom.

However, human nature might be a reason for viewing truth as outrageous because it is very natural for people to debunk any matter or things that challenge their conventional thought regardless of being true or false. Most people hardly want to deviate from the beliefs they are taught from the time unknown. People also feel deep respect for the view of their ancestors, therefore when something challenges their ancestor’s notion, they take it as disrespect to their predecessors. And to save the honour of both them and their ancestor they oppose the truth.

In sum, it can be said that truths, that challenge the traditional views, always face oppression. But over the time when these truths hold ground, they are accepted and pave the way for the advancement of mankind.