The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

modernization has radically changed the structure of our daily lives. even though, the increase of the pace of the technological development of our world has resulted into an astronomical amount of benefits, one cannot deny the direct and indirect consequences and complications that modernization has caused, therefore, I partially agree with the author’s statement.

The exponential rate of technological development lead to many positive impacts on our world. For instance, breakthroughs in medicine allowed us to overcome and find cures to a cornucopia of ailments leading to a decrease in mortality rate. On an individual level, technology has made our lives incredibly convenient: advanced means of transportation such as cars and airplanes allow to travel to far places in a mere number of hours or less, where it would have taken days or weeks previously to travel that distance, cellular phones and the internet gave us the ability to connect to people all across the world instantaneously. such technological developments have provided us with the time and resources to tackle evermore complex issues. For example, we were able to built large laser interferometers, and in 2016, gravitational waves were discovered by LIGO, thus, further proving Einstein’s general theory of relativity, and just 3 years after, we obtained the first photo of a black hole. therefore, modernization bettered our lives and gave us the opportunity to solve exciting problems that were initially impossible and incomprehensible.

On the other hand, there is a dark side to modernization, as it can be incredibly destructive. For example, the exponential rate of technological development is accompanied by a rapid rate of energy consumption. this has led to two gargantuan problems, the first one is that non-renewable energy is quickly depleting, and the second is that our unsage use of energy has led to catastrophic climate change effects. The problem of climate change is becoming increasingly worse that we have inadvertently set a doomsday clock, if we do not solve this issue soon, our planet could be almost uninhabitable in a matter of decades.

another consequence to rapid modernization is that at times society cannot keep up or fully understand the consequences that a certain technology may have. For instance, the impact of the tragic explosion of the nuclear reactor at Chernobyl were of cataclysmic proportions, almost wiping all life forms on the continent of Europe and its complications are still last till today. The explosion was due to a gross neglect and the failure of the appropriate people to recognize the consequence of that neglect. another example is that of designer babies in which we will be able to manipulate the genes of embryos to produce babies that are more intelligent, healthier, and prettier. even though, this is a noble idea, however, there are ethical repercussions that need to be considered. As such technology could further increase the socioeconomic gap because wealthy families will be the ones who can afford this technology.

In conclusion, modernization has bettered our lives from several facets, however, if we turn a blind eye to the potential dangers it may cause or fail to understand their extent, then modernization will be the cause of our undoing.