Claim: While boredom is often expressed with a sense of self-satisfaction, it should really be a source of embarrassment.

Reason: Boredom arises from a lack of imagination and self-motivation.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

boredom is the state of being disinterested in one’s own surroundings. The author makes the following premises regarding it: boredom arises from a lack of imagination and self motivation, boredom is often expressed with a sense of self- satisfaction, and boredom should be a source of embarrassment. I disagree with all these premises, especially the last two, to a large extent for the following reasons.

The first premise states that boredom arises from a lack of imagination and self motivation. Even though I do concede that this premise may be true in some cases. For example, a student who finished all of his work and has some free time at the end of the day may end up being bored because they cannot imagine anything interesting that they can do such as; going out of friends, reading…..etc. However beyond this concession, I believe that, in most cases, boredom arises from the engagement in activities that are inherently unchallenging and unstimulating. therefore, it is unfair for the author to blame a person’s motivational and imaginative capacity as the culprit for their boredom. For instance, cleaning dishes all day at a restaurant would lead to boredom, writing reports and doing paperwork all day would leave the person uninspired and, thus, bored at the end of the day. this leads me to the author’s second premise.

boredom is expressed with a sense of self satisfaction. On the contrary, since boredom often arises from the person being in an unstimulating and unfulfilling environment, boredom is thus an expression of dissatisfaction with that environment. Lastly, the author states that boredom should be a source of embarrassment. that is such a naïve response. because boredom gives the person the capacity of daydreaming which, as several study have shown, can increase creativity and novel ideas. Additionally, boredom provides a person with the opportunity of having the time to reflect their source of dissatisfaction and make the desired changes or modifications.

In conclusion, boredom arises from existing in uninspiring conditions, it is an expression of discontent and, therefore, should be considered as a symptom that something needs to be altered in one’s life and an opportunity to make these alterations rather then perceiving it as something that is embarrassing.