Issue 41 The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them not by their contemporaries Task Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the p

There are times when an individual becomes more known by later generation than by current. For example, Jane Austen’s novels became famous after her death. However That does not mean that an individual is more highly celebrated by later generations than by their contemporaries.

An individual who lived in the 80s would have a significantly different lifestyle and cultural view than one who lives in the current generation. In the 80’s, people were more conservative and had a very parochial view on life when it came to women’s behaviour in society, gender views, etc. A man considered great in the 80’s would be one who smokes and drinks, focuses on career over household duties, and is the breadwinner of the household. That person would not be favoured in today’s society wherein majority of the men are considered equally responsible for household chores and would consider themselves an equal to a woman, not superior. Take the case of the men from the Friends TV. Fans in the 90’s viewed them as the ‘standard’ to have as partners, however, majority of people from the current generation are pointing out the flaws of Joey, Ross and Chandler that would not be tolerated today.

Take Shakespeare as another example. Shakespearan plays were the prime of that generation. Although it true that our generation appreciates how Shakespeare created new English words, his plays would not be as celebrated today as they were back then since we would not be able to connect with the language spoken. Only esoteric Shakespearean enthusiasts would be able to connect to such plays being put on today.

In addition, a person’s good qualities may be exaggerated by their contemporaries who see their favorite individual through rose-coloured glasses. It is only people in the later generations who can differentiate the good qualities from the bad as they view the person through a logical lens. For example, Mother Theresa was quite popular during her time but they failed to see that Mother Theresa tried to convert all those she healed into Christianity.

Although, there are cases wherein an individual is unappreciated in their own time especially if they have views different from the majority. For example, an artist who is an ally of the LGBTQ community would not be abel to beome successful in the older generations who were not LGBTQ friendly. However, they would not face any such difficulties today.

Nonetheless, a person is considered greater to contemporaries since they all share similar contexts and lifetyles and hence can relate to each other’s lifestyles.