The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals

In the contemporary world, people don’t have to worry about safety from an animal attack or bad weather. A person living a luxurious life is more secured with resources available at hand in tough times. However, that does not mean that a person who lives a luxurious life of comfort can still become independent and strong.

An individual who has enough resources to satisfy their basic needs and not have to worry about day-to-day expenses can still face obstacles that develop them into a more resilient person. Let’s take a woman who has all the conveniences of contemporary life and the monetary backing such she does not have worry about day-to-day expenditures. However, this woman might have a mentally disabled son such that despite having all the reources and material comforts, she has no freedom to do what she wants. This child would be dependant on her physically and emotionally. Another individual, who has amazing family support and the independence to do what she wants, is physically disabled and unable to walk. She would have to grow as person and accept her disability and move through life with resilience.

Even if we don’t look at such extreme examples, a person who has no disabilities could still be facing the pressures that come with living in this contemporary world. These days the world has become so competitive that you have to aim to always be the best. Even mediocrity is looked down upon and wanting to live a peaceful life where a person wishes to be home by 5 and enjoy home life more is laughed at. In this day and age, you always have grind your way up and be the best in order to be respected and to earn a livable wage.

According to recent research articles, loneliness is also an increasing factor because people are living more individualistic lifestyles as opposed to the older ages which emphasized community and family. This again is a hardship that does require people to develop strengths.

Of course, living in this contemporary life, people do have access to more resources and more freedom of choice than they did before. Individuals nowadays, especially those dwelling in urban areas, don’t have to worry about fulfilling their basic needs. Nonetheless, just living a life of comforts and luxuries does not remove the problems that is inherent in human’s lives such as disabilities, pressures, etc.