Issue topic: Governments are justified in circumventing civil laws when doing so is vital to the protection of national security.

In Stone Age humans struggled to fulfill their basic needs of food, water and shelter all the while facing challenges thrown at them by Mother Nature. Since then, humans have come far. They developed civilizations notably the Greek Civilization which set the foundations of democracy. Not quite four centuries ago, the American Revolution led to successful formation of a government elected by the people for the people, which cemented some of the basic rights for all its citizens.

While a large portion of the world's population still struggles to have two square meals a day, the other portion is engaged in facing challenges not lesser in severity than the Neanderthals did ten thousand years ago. Through countless civil rights movements across the world, some of the basic rights of citizens of an increasingly global society such as the right to privacy, the right of free speech have been defined. But are all these laws worth the cost of destabilizing entire nations?

As the society continues to strive for a better life by utilizing the advents in technology, the nefarious elements of society make use of the same technology for their own criminal activities which threaten the tranquility of society. At such times if Governments step in and put a curb on some civil rights to ensure the safety and balance of its citizens, the restriction of some freedoms is a price worth paying.

In light of the recent Coronavirus epidemic in countries like China, South Korea and Italy; if the restriction on freedom of movement of people ensures that the disease does not spread further then is it immoral to place curfews in affected areas?

In many countries religious radicalism and extremism are giving rise to terrorism. In such cases if the Government puts a curb on freedom of speech by detaining individuals representing certain organizations who call for armed revolts, is it dictatorial? Bomb blasts caused by such organizations have killed thousands over the years, all over the world. A bullet or a bomb doesn't ask the race or religion of its victims.

Many individuals with their own warped sense of moral and/or racial superiority have been responsible for mass shootings. Many disturbed minds have done the same. Many individuals embezzle money which is then used to finance criminal activities. If getting bank-records of such people circumventing the usual lengthy procedure of getting a warrant, then it is worth skirting the civil rights of these people who are not worthy of them.

Internet, arguably the most important invention of the twenty-first century ushered in an era driven by information. It is possible to write reports on obscure topics like 'Variety of Rice Found in Senegal' by just typing in some words in a search engine. But criminal elements have gone on to steal hard-earned money of thousands by using Internet. Online trolling, stalking, leaking of private materials have caused thousands of lives to be ruined. In such cases if Internet usage is monitored by governments to put a stop to online black markets selling firearms, illegal drugs, child pornography; I am hard-pressed to call it tyranny.

If someone types b**bs in a search engine, why should the government care? They should not care if some adolescent teen is replacing the asterisks with the letters 'o', 'o'. But they should care if a misguided youth is replacing those same asterisks with the letters 'o' and 'm'. Because one should not use his civil rights to seize those same rights from others and if an elected government is circumventing the laws that give these rights to ensure safety of large populace, it is the right way.