It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In this era of individualism, most people have their own belief system and prefer to maintain their thoughts and ideas because they see compromise as a sign of weakness. Some may argue that it is more harmful to compromise one's beliefs than to adhere to them because compromising would yield lousy results. However, I believe that compromise can be necessary and beneficial to individuals and nations.

Granted, compromising one's belief, in some cases, would engender detrimental effects, so it is indispensable to adhere to one's own view, especially for researchers and scientists. Take Galileo Galilei, for example. Galilei, as a distinguished astronomer, firmly held the heliocentric model, which stated that the Sun is the center of the Universe. At the same time, most people during this era followed geocentric belief, the notion that the Earth is the center of the world. As Galilei's idea contradicted the opinion of Catholicism, the catholic church chastened him and eventually put him under home arrest. However, he endured the isolation and put up criticism to prove his theory was correct, which ultimately rectified a misconception regarding geocentrism and brought today's tremendous advancement in astronomy. All things considered, sometimes people should adhere to their principles because compromise can be an indicator of weaknesses.

However, for political and government leaders, it is more efficient to compromise their beliefs to ensure the well-being and safety of their people. Presidents are often put in place where they have to negotiate with other countries. For example, President John F. Kennedy rallied the United States in the Cuban Missile Crisis, in which the United States and the Soviet Union came near a war. Although Kennedy could have claimed that the United States was more powerful and stood firmly against its enemies, he made efforts to reach a common ground with the Soviet Union. With a compromise, the Soviet leader offered to remove missiles in Cuba in exchange for the U.S. promising not to invade Cuba. Through Kennedy's negotiation, he prevented another massive war from occurring and also sustained the peace in the world, which reassured the public who was anxious about the possibility of war outbreaking. Hence, political leaders should learn to compromise their beliefs on behalf of their nation rather than viewing compromise as a sign of weakness,

Moreover, compromise can prove to be efficient not only on a national level but also on an international scale. The Kyoto Protocol is a compelling example demonstrating negotiation's positive effects. Given the world's exponential increase in greenhouse gas emissions due to industrialization, the developed countries understood that they must cooperate to solve the urgent environmental problems. Under the principle of "common but differential responsibility and respective capability," all the countries agreed to limit and reduce the total amount of greenhouse gas emissions. This settlement has manifested the effectiveness of global efforts. Therefore, leaders and organizations should compromise their beliefs because doing so would not be harmful.

In conclusion, although adhering to one's belief might be essential sometimes, one should understand that compromise can be beneficial in the long run. Negotiation skills have proved advantageous in both past and present and will be helpful in the future.