It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When it comes to defining who we are has people, there are multiple sources that we pull from. How we dentify with the socail groups we are and are not a part of, I believe, are to be the primiary factors in that definition. In taking a hollostic view on American born children we see how those social groups shape who we are. Now don't get me wrong, there are plently of other factors that attribute to making of one's self. But I do believe social standings and idenification is the prmiary factor.

Lets take a quick wide view of the middle class, suburban, American youth of today. What they do and enjoy is usually what their friends and peers at school like to do. Kids who like to play sports, play other sports with other children who also like sports. Children who enjoy reading and drawing, will probably read and write with other children who do that same. These kids develop patterns and soon define themsleves with who they spend their time with. And generally those friendships and hobbies stay true until a pivital time in a youth's life; college. All of a sudden those kids who have been in the same social group for the entire life are being thrown into a brand new world. A very diverse and different world compared to what they grew up understanding. It is well known that the college years of someone's life is where the most change happens. And it makes sense for that to happen. You see most people make huge life changes here. They might chose to take up or leave a religion. They may change majors and carrer paths. All due to the different social groups they are now a part of.

Some might aruge that one's self is whoever they want to be. And I would generally agree. But counter with the fact that no one chooses where they grow up. There is a reason why certain countries are labeled as a "Muslim State" or a "Christian State". People grew up with those influnences in their daily lives. They could decide at any point to pick a new relgion, and some do. But the majority stay in that relgion becuase that is the only social grow they have known. And to deviate from that just doesn't make sense.

There are many different components that make up one's definition of self. I would aruge the primary part though is identification within social groups. Where you view yourself amoung the groups in the world, determines how you view your own self.