It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

There are several aspects that can be a factor in terms of defining ourselves, including our physical, psychological, and cultural elements of our lives. Mostly, social scientists tend to argue that human beings are primarily social beings that cannot be explained without the associated social groups. Still, there are numerous other elements that cannot be ignored. This essay will clarify the understandings of the definition of self and the connection between self and ‘the social’ by providing several examples and reasons.

Admittedly, as we are constantly affiliated with numerous groups of networks, the societal terms make up a large portion of explaining ourselves. For instance, Niklas Luhmann, an eminent scholar, has argued that ‘the social’ merely consists of communication. That is, once communicative activities exist, then this condition can be defined as society. He continued his assumption by claiming that the self also is part of ‘the social’ because of the fact that self-identification can be formed through various communicative efforts including the interactive information that are conveyed via neurons. According to the given perspective, the self is also a bundle of communication and society, which concords with the assumption stated in the prompt. Thus, it is likely that holding the view of defining ourselves by social interactions can be efficient as is ascertained.

Nevertheless, there are still attempts to individualize and discern oneself from the outer part of the world. The personification and identification of oneself includes efforts in finding discernable and distinct aspects of the self. Even though social affiliation provides significant evidence in proving ourselves, there are still some parts of information that cannot be revealed through social activities. Let us take an example of James Baldwin who has become the representative figure of minority literature. Even though he had been illustrated as a homosexual black-american author who fought against racial discrimination and violence caused by inequality, he ceaselessly tried to discern himself from the generalizing tendencies of mass media to depict him as an icon. His efforts are shown in his literary works in which only heterosexual white males are advent in the main plot. His depiction in human beings was mainly about his predilection in terms of finding elements of individual feelings of absurdity and the efforts to be discerned from specific social groups. This instance shows us the aspects of personalized characters that we believe in ourselves and others. That is, defining ourselves contain assiduous efforts to be distinctive from any social groups.

Furthermore, the presumption that social groups are the most significant determinant of defining ourselves may lead to harmful results due to the fact that we might lose our own thoughts and insights in evaluating certain actions. That is, if we define ourselves only through the social groups that we are involved in, it will be likely to cause confusion when our individual beliefs do not conform with the ideology shared among other members. Thus, this tendency should be in halt when the social activity contains a possibility that violates the dignity or basic principles of humanity. This kind of discernment can only be attained through the individual thoughts and insights.

Therefore, the conclusion now stands that the definition of the self contains not only efforts of connecting one to the social activities and interactions among ‘the social’, but also the constant discernment in terms of trying to personalize ourselves.